MOAA to Present Congressional Leadership Awards to Arizona Reps

MOAA to Present Congressional Leadership Awards to Arizona Reps

MOAA will present its Arthur T. Marix Congressional Leadership Award to two U.S. representatives at an April event on Capitol Hill.

Reps. Martha McSally, (R), and Kyrsten Sinema (D), both of Arizona, will be honored for their strong leadership advocacy to sustain our nation's all-volunteer force. McSally is a member of the House Committee on Armed Services, and Sinema is a member of the House Financial Services Committee. The Marix Award is named for the retired Marine Corps colonel who founded MOAA in 1929. It is presented annually to members of Congress who distinguish themselves in protecting the rights and interests of uniformed services members, their families and survivors.

“We selected Representatives McSally and Sinema because of their committee contributions in support of military service members, veterans, and their families in the past and what we hope to see more of in the future,” said Col. Mike Barron, USA (Ret), MOAA's government relations director for currently serving and retired affairs.

MOAA's 2018 Colonel Paul W. Arcari Meritorious Service Award recipients will be Jorge Rueda, formerly with the Senate Veterans' Affairs Committee, and Samantha Gonzalez, with the House Veterans' Affairs Committee. MOAA's 2018 Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Tim Barone, president and CEO of Vantage Mobility International, and Kevin Johnson, president and CEO of Starbucks Coffee Company.

MOAA has awarded the Marix and Distinguished Service awards since 1997. Past recipients of the Marix Award include Sens. Lindsay Graham, John McCain, and Jim Webb; past recipients of the Distinguished Service Award include Tom Brokaw, Toby Keith, and retired Army Gen. Colin Powell. The Arcari award recognizing congressional staff members was first awarded in 2000.

More about the award recipients:

MOAA to Honor Congressional Leaders, Starbucks & Vantage Mobility CEOs

MOAA to Present Hill Staffers with Meritorious Service Award

MOAA to Honor Starbucks CEO With 2018 Distinguished Service Award

Vantage Mobility Intl. to Receive 2018 MOAA Distinguished Service Award